Back to Group Awards Page Group Awards

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences 'Oscar' Nominations and Winners
(in alphabetical order) winners announced 2/24/97, nominations announced 2/11/97.
  Academy Award Nominations
Best Picture
The English Patient WINNER!
Jerry Maguire
Secrets & Lies
Best Director Joel Coen (Fargo)
Milos Forman (The People vs. Larry Flynt)
Scott Hicks (Shine)
Mike Leigh (Secrets & Lies)
Anthony Minghella (The English Patient) WINNER!
Best Actor
Tom Cruise (Jerry Maguire)
Ralph Fiennes (The English Patient)
Woody Harrelson (The People vs. Larry Flynt)
Geoffrey Rush (Shine) WINNER!
Billy Bob Thornton (Sling Blade)
Best Actress
Brenda Blethyn (Secrets & Lies)
Diane Keaton (Marvin's Room)
Frances McDormand (Fargo) WINNER!
Kristin Scott Thomas (The English Patient)
Emily Watson (Breaking the Waves)
Best Supporting Actor Cuba Gooding Jr. (Jerry Maguire) WINNER!
William H. Macy (Fargo)
Edward Norton (Primal Fear)
Armin Mueller-Stahl (Shine)
James Woods (Ghosts of Mississippi)
Best Supporting Actress Joan Allen (The Crucible)
Lauren Becall (The Mirror Has Two Faces)
Juliette Binoche (The English Patient) WINNER!
Barbara Hershey (Portrait of a Lady)
Marianne Jean-Baptiste (Secrets & Lies)
Best Foreign Film A Chief in Love (Georgia)
Kolya (Czech Republic) WINNER!
The Other Side of Sunday (Norway)
Prisoner of the Mountains (Russia)
Ridicule (France)
Best Original Screenplay Joel & Ethan Coen (Fargo) WINNER!
Cameron Crowe (Jerry Maguire)
Mike Leigh (Secrets & Lies)
Jan Sardi and Scott Hicks (Shine)
John Sayles (Lone Star)
Best Adapted Screenplay Kenneth Branagh (Hamlet)
John Hodge (Trainspotting)
Arthur Miller (The Crucible)
Anthony Minghella (The English Patient)
Billy Bob Thornton (Sling Blade) WINNER!
Best Cinematography The English Patient (John Seale) WINNER!
Evita (Darius Khondji)
Fargo (Roger Deakins)
Fly Away Home (Caleb Deschanel)
Michael Collins (Chris Menges)
Best Art Direction The Birdcage (Art Director - Bo Welch)
The English Patient (Art Director - Stuart Craig) WINNER!
Evita (Art Director - Brian Morris)
Hamlet (Art Director - Tim Harvey)
William Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet (Art Director - Catherine Martin)
Best Film Editing The English Patient (Walter Murch) WINNER!
Evita (Gerry Hambling)
Fargo (Roderick Jaynes)
Jerry Maguire (Joe Hutshing)
Shine (Pip Karmel)
Best Costume Design Angels and Insects (Paul Brown)
Emma (Ruth Myers)
The English Patient (Ann Roth) WINNER!
Hamlet (Alex Byrne)
The Portrait of a Lady (Janet Patterson)
Best Makeup Ghosts of Mississippi (Matthew W. Mungle and Deborah La Mia Denaver)
The Nutty Professor (Rick Baker and David Leroy Anderson) WINNER!
Star Trek: First Contact (Michael Westmore, Scott Wheeler and Jake Garber)
Original Dramatic Score The English Patient, Gabriel Yared WINNER!
Hamlet, Patrick Doyle
Michael Collins, Elliot Goldenthal
Shine, David Hirschfelder
Sleepers, John Williams
Best Original Original Musical or Comedy Score Emma, Rachel Portman WINNER!
The First Wives' Club, Marc Shaiman
The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz
James and the Giant Peach, Randy Newman
The Preacher's Wife, Hans Zimmer
Best Original Song "Because You Love Me" by Diane Warren (Up Close and Personal)
"For the First Time" by James Newton Howard, Jud J. Friedman and Allan Dennis Rich (One Fine Day)
"I Finally Found Someone" by Barbara Streisand, Marvin Hamlisch, Bryan Adams and Robert Lange (The Mirror Has Two Faces)
"That Thing You Do!" by Adam Schlesinger (That Thing You Do!)
"You Must Love Me", Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice (Evita) WINNER!
Best Sound The English Patient (Walter Murch, Mark Berger, David Parker and Chris Newman) WINNER!
Evita (Andy Nelson, Anna Behlmer and Ken Weston)
Independence Day (Chris Carpenter, Bill W. Benton, Bob Beemer and Jeff Wexler)
The Rock (Kevin O'Connell, Greg P. Russell and Keith A. Wester)
Twister (Steve Maslow, Gregg Landaker, Kevin O'Connell and Geoffrey Patterson)
Best Sound Effects Editing Daylight (Richard L. Anderson and David A. Whittaker)
Eraser (Alan Robert Murray and Bob Asman)
The Ghost and the Darkness (Bruce Stambler) WINNER!
Best Visual Effects Dragonheart (Scott Squires, Phil Tippett, James Straus and Kit West)
Independence Day (Volker Engel, Douglas Smith, Clay Pinney and Joseph Viskocil) WINNER!
Twister (Stefen Fangmeier, John Frazier, Habib Zargarpour and Henry La Bounta)
Best Documentary Feature The Line King: The Al Hirschfeld Story (A Times History Production, Susan W. Dryfoos)
Mandela (A Clinica Estetico, Ltd, Production Jo Menell and Angus Gibson)
Suzanne Farrell: Elusive Muse (A Seahorse Films, Inc. Production, Anne Belle and Deborah Dickson)
Tell the Truth and Run: George Seldez and the American Press (A Never Tire Production, Rick Goldsmith)
When We Were Kings (A DASFilms Ltd. Production, Leon Gast and David Sonenberg) WINNER!
Best Documentary (Short Subject) Breathing Lessons: The Life and Work of Mark O'Brien (An Inscrutable Films/Pacific News Service Production, Jessica Yu) WINNER!
Cosmic Voyage (A Cosmic Voyage Inc. Production, Jeffrey Marvin and Bayley Silleck)
An Essay on Matisse (A Great Projects Film Company Inc. Production, Perry Wolff)
Special Effects (A NOVA/WGBH Boston Production, Susanne Simpson and Ben Burtt)
The Wild Bunch: An Album in Montage (A Tyrus Entertainment Production, Paul Seydor and Nick Redman)
Best Animated Short Film Canhead (Timothy Hittle and Chris Peterson)
La Salla (Richard Condie)
Quest (Tyron Montgomery and Thomas Stellmach) WINNER!
Wat's Pig (Peter Lord)
Best Live-Action Short Film De Tripas, Corazon (Antonio Urrutia)
Dear Diary (David Frankel and Barry Jossen) WINNER!
Ernest & Lyset (Kim Magnusson and Anders Thomas Jensen)
Eposados (Juan Carlos Fresnadillo)
Wordless (Bernadette Carranza and Antonello De Leo)